Urgent Update: Lagos Legislators Remain Firm on Rejecting 17 Sanwo-Olu Cabinet Nominees

The Lagos State House of Assembly remains resolute in its stance to reject 17 out of 39 cabinet nominees submitted by Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu for the purpose of assessment and approval.

In a previous session last Wednesday, the Assembly granted confirmation to 22 of the 39 cabinet nominees forwarded by Governor Sanwo-Olu, while withholding approval for the remaining 17 nominees.

Among the individuals not granted approval were Mrs. Folashade Adefisayo, Prof. Akin Abayomi, Mr. Yomi Oluyomi, Mrs. Folashade Ambrose, Ms. Barakat Bakare, Mr. Gbenga Omotosho, Engr. Olalere Odusote, and Dr. Rotimi Fashola.

Additional nominees who did not secure the Assembly’s endorsement included Mrs. Bolaji Cecilia Dada, Mr. Sam Egube, Mr. Olalekan Fatodu, Mrs. Solape Hammond, Mr. Mosopefolu George, Engr. Aramide Adeyoye, Mr. Seun Osiyemi, Mr. Rotimi Ogunwuyi, and Dr. Olumide Oluyinka.

On the opposite end, those who received confirmation included Layode Ibrahim, Mr. Mobolaji Ogunlende, Dr. Dolapo Fasawe, Bola Olumegbon, Mr. Idris Aregbe, Ms. Abisola Ruth Olusanya, Mr. Moruf Akinderu Fatai, Mr. Kayode Bolaji-Roberts, and Engr. Abiola Olowu.

Among the approved candidates were also Mrs. Toke Benson-Awoyinka, Dr. Oreoluwa Finnih-Awokoya, Mr. Yakub Adedayo Alebiosu, Mr. Lawal Pedro SAN, Mr. Tunbosun Alake, Mr. Gbenga Oyerinde, Dr. Adekunle Olayinka, Dr. Jide Babatunde, Mr. Afolabi Ayantayo, Mr. Tokunbo Wahab, Mr. Olakunle Rotimi-Akodu, Mr. Jamiu Alli-Balogun, and Mr. Abdulkabir Ogungbo.

“Undertaking our responsibilities and exercising our oversight role will remain our focus,” reiterated Obasa.

As the Assembly resumed its session on Monday, Speaker Mudashiru Obasa declared the Assembly’s resolution, disregarding external pressures seeking to reverse the decision.

Obasa affirmed that the confirmation process had undergone meticulous scrutiny, facilitated by an ad-hoc committee under the leadership of the House’s Chief Whip, Hon. Fatai Mojeed.

The speaker acknowledged the committee’s efficiency and urged the confirmed nominees to always bear in mind that their duty is to serve the State’s populace, rather than catering to individual interests.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like